Kilkenny retain Leinster Senior Camogie crown

by on the 26th of May 2024

Leinster Senior Final

Kilkenny 0-14 Dublin 1-6

by Aoife Lanigan, PRO

A strong first half performance saw Kilkenny crowned the Leinster senior camogie champions for the 26th time.

In a repeat of last year’s final, Chap Cleere’s side got the better of Dublin at Glenisk O’Connor Park, Tullamore.

The Cats were quick off the mark on Saturday, with Laura Greene opening the scoring with a point from play inside three minutes. They doubled their lead directly from the puckout, Aoife Doyle sending the sliotar back over the bar.

Ashling Maher opened Dublin’s account with a point before she fired her side in front, blasting the sliotar to the back of the net to make it 1-1 to 0-2 after six minutes. However, they failed to raise a flag for the next 37 minutes, allowing Kilkenny to take control of the scoreboard.

Kilkenny shrugged off the concession of that goal, Miriam Walsh pointed from play after a neat handpass from Caoimhe Keher-Murtagh. Sarah Barcoe tacked on a point, before Aoife Prendergast slotted over a point from a free to level matters.

Wing Back Miriam Bambrick got on the scoresheet with a point to edge Kilkenny back in front (0-6 to 1-1). They kicked on from here, Miriam Walsh and Aoife Prendergast (0-2 frees) adding the last points of the half. That run ensured Kilkenny were five points ahead at the interval (0-9 to 1-1).

The leaders picked up where they left off after the resumption, adding two more points from Aoife Prendergast.

Dublin finally sparked back into life, scoring four unanswered points through Emma Flanagan, Niamh Comerford, Grace O’Shea and Ashling Maher.

However, their hopes of a comeback were ended when Prendergast fired over two more frees. Aishling O’Neill slotted over a point for Dublin, but Prendergast had the final say, converting a 45m free to seal the silverware.

Kilkenny won’t have long to celebrate their provincial success as they are straight into the All-Ireland championship. The Cats will start their O’Duffy Cup campaign when they face Limerick in Mick Neville Park, Rathkeale on Saturday at 4pm.

Scorers – Kilkenny – Aoife Prendergast 0-8 (0-8f), Miriam Walsh 0-2, Aoife Doyle, Laura Greene, Sarah Barcoe, Miriam Bambrick 0-1 each

Dublin – Aishling O’Neill 1-1, Ashling Maher 0-2 (1f), Emma Flanagan, Grace O’Shea 0-1 each, Niamh Comerford 0-1 (1f)

Kilkenny – Aoife Norris, Michelle Teehan, Grace Walsh, Ciara Phelan, Tiffanie Fitzgerald, Niamh Deely, Miriam Bambrick, Laura Murphy, Laura Greene, Aoife Doyle, Katie Power, Sarah Barcoe, Caoimhe Keher Murtagh, Miriam Walsh, Aoife Prendergast

Subs – Julianne Malone for Katie Power, Kaite Nolan for Sarah Barcoe, Asha McHardy for Miriam Walsh, Roisin Breen, Kellyann Doyle, Niamh Phelan, Roisin Phelan, Emily McCarthy, Sinead O’Keeffe, Danielle Quigley, Keara Ryan, Sophie O’Dwyer, Emma Shortall, Claire Doheny, Grace Barcoe, Roisin O’Keeffe, Steffi Fitzgerald, Sarah Crowley

Dublin – Amy Gorman, Abby Ryan, Emma O’Byrne, Zoe Couch, Claire Gannon, Ashling Maher, Kerry Finnegan, Niamh Gannon, Gaby Couch, Aoife McKearney, Sinead Nolan, Aine Rafter, Aishling O’Neill, Elyse Jamieson-Murphy, Grace O’Shea

Subs – Aisling Gannon for Sinead Nolan, Emma Flanagan for Aine Rafter, Aoife Kenny for Zoe Couch, Niamh Comerford, Chloe Ni Cheallaigh, Leah Butler, Sinead Murphy, Niamh Gleeson, Sibeal Cherry, Roisin Ni Chathasaigh, Jennifer Moore, Anna Sullivan, Kassie McEvoy, Chloe O’Connor, Grainne Skelton, Laura Sharkey, Hannah O’Dea, Aoife Heffernan, Niamh Heffernan, Mia Farrell

Referee – Justin Heffernan, Wexford

Read more

Back to news