Loreto on top in Leinster decider

by on the 17th of January 2024

Leinster PPS A Senior Camogie Final

Loreto Kilkenny 1-17 Colaiste Abhainn Ri Callan 1-6

By Aoife Lanigan, PRO

Loreto Kilkenny won their 15th Leinster Senior A Post Primary Schools Title when defeating Colaiste Abhainn Ri Callan in Palmerstown last Saturday

Aoife Shealy opened the scoring with a point from play in the 2nd minute for Loreto. Shealy added another two points from play by the 7th minute.

Lucy Boyd and Caoimhe Keher Murtagh added another two points for Loreto and they led 0-5 to 0-0 after 10 minutes

In the 11th minute, against the run of play, Colaiste Abhainn Ri got a life line when Aisling O’Shea charged towards the Loreto goal.

Ali Kennedy came off her line to narrow the angle, but O’Shea slotted the sliotar past her into the back of the net.

Then Ciara O’Shea converted a point from a free to leave only a point between the teams

Having failed to register a score for 10 minutes the Loreto came back into the game. They scored the next three points through Aoife Shealy, Lucy Boyd (f) and Ciara Dunne.

Then approaching half time, Callan scored two points through Ciara O’Shea (f) and Tara Cody to leave the interval score 0-8 to 1-3 in favour of Loreto

On the resumption of play, Lucy Boyd tacked on another point for Loreto. Over the next 9 minutes both defences stood strong with neither team conceding any scores

Loreto then introduced Rachel Dowling – and what a difference she made! Dowling converted a point a free in the 36th minute. Lucy Boyd added a point for Loreto after a neat pass from Aisling Browne.

Rachel Dowling who added another pointed free for Loreto, was everywhere on the pitch, covering back in defence and up in the forwards

Aisling O’Sullivan added a point for Callan to stop the rot, but Rachel Dowling converted two placed balls, one from a 45’, after Ciara Dunne had hit a rasper of a shot and was deflected out for a 45 by the Callan keeper

Aisling Browne tacked on a lovely point after being placed by Lucy Boyd.

Ciara O’Shea converted a pointed free for Callan before Rachel Dowling added another pointed free for Loreto after she was fouled herself.

Aoife Shealy scored a great point for Loreto from play from a very tight angle.

Heading towards full time Ava Brett scored a point for Callan, but from the puckout, Loreto worked the sliotar upfield and Aisling Browne found Caoimhe Keher Murtagh and she hit a bullet past the Callan goalkeeper to leave the full time score 1-17 to 1-6

Loreto will play the Ulster Champions in the All-Ireland Semi Final at a Kilkenny venue on Saturday January 27

Loreto Kilkenny Scorers – Aoife Shealy 0-5, Rachel Dowling 0-5 (5f), Caoimhe Keher Murtagh 1-1, Lucy Boyd 0-4 (1f), Ciara Dunne, Aisling Browne 0-1 each

Colaiste Abhainn Ri Callan – Aisling O’Shea 1-0, Ciara O’Shea 0-3 (3f), Aisling O’Sullivan, Tara Cody, Ava Brett 0-1 each

Loreto Kilkenny – Ali Kennedy (Windgap), Marie O’Keeffe (Young Irelands), Angela Carroll (Dicksboro), Orlaith Kirwan (Thomastown), Emma Corr (Clara) (Capt), Anna Doheny (Tullaroan), Emily Smith (James Stephens), Ambar Laherty (Mullinavat), Sarah Kehoe (Mount Leinster Rangers), Louisa Gilmore (Danesfort), Caoimhe Keher Murtagh (Rower Inistioge), Aisling Browne (Dicksboro), Aoife Shealy (O’Loughlin Gaels), Ciara Dunne (Tullaroan), Lucy Boyd (Clara)

Subs – Rachel Dowling (Dicksboro) for Louisa Gilmore (Danesfort), Tara McGrath (Dicksboro) for Lucy Boyd (Clara), Isabelle Egan (Dicksboro), Isabelle Fahy (Dicksboro), Abbie Gibbons (The Harps, Durrow), Lisa Kirby (The Harps, Durrow), Jenna Larkin (James Stephens), Isabel Roberts (Dicksboro), Sinead Carroll (Dicksboro), Aoibhin Deegan (Dicksboro), Sarah Keher (John Lockes), Ellen Murphy (Rower Inistioge), Jessica Smith (Barrow Rangers), Ayesha Belalaoui (Dicksboro), Grace Brennan (Tullaroan), Ona Kennedy (Windgap), Siofra Kennedy (Conahy Shamrocks), Aoife Kirby (The Harps, Durrow), Shauna Mahony (Danesfort), Eleanor Doheny (Tullaroan), Shannon Doheny (Tullaroan), Muireann Kenny (Rower Inistioge), Eva Tynan (Dicksboro), Julie Lennon (Young Irelands) (inj)

Colaiste Abhainn Ri Callan – Jenny Saunders (Windgap), Sal Ryan (John Lockes), Megan Kenneally (Windgap), Ria McCormack (Carrickshock), Molly Conroy (St Brigid’s), Jessica Cuddy (Tullaroan) (Capt), Aileen Gleeson (Danesfort), Caoimhe Power (Windgap), Rachel O’Meara (Mullinahone), Ava Brett (St Brigid’s) (Vice Capt), Ciara O’Shea (Windgap), Aisling O’Sullivan (John Lockes), Tara Cody (St Brigid’s), Aisling O’Shea (Windgap), Chloe O’Donovan (John Lockes)

Subs – Rachel Hartley (John Lockes) for Rachel O’Meara (Mullinahone), Ally Audoire (John Lockes), Lauren Hartley (John Lockes), Eleanor Hayes (Windgap), Elly Holland (Tullaroan), Ciara Gleeson (Danesfort), Cathy Power (Windgap), Caoimhe Kelly (John Lockes), Farrah Ryan (John Lockes), Aoibhne Corcoran (John Lockes), Emma Bibby (Tullaroan), Holly McGowan (Mullinahone)


Referee – Eamon Mansfield


Read more

Back to news