Dicksboro crowned queens of Leinster

by on the 27th of November 2023

AIB Leinster Final

Dicksboro 0-12

St Vincent’s (Dublin) 1-7

by Aoife Lanigan, PRO

Camogie history was made as Dicksboro picked up their first Leinster senior club title after an enthralling encounter against St Vincent’s.

The ’Boro had to battle hard to beat the reigning champions, but a strong second half performance saw the Kilkenny side seal the spoils.

Vincent’s were quick off the mark and opened the scoring with points from Ali Maguire and Anna Sullivan. Dicksboro who were slow to settle into the game, but came alive when Ciara Phelan was fouled around midfield. Amy Clifford stood over the sliotar on the 65m line and hit it straight between the posts

Aisling Maher slotted over a free for Vincent’s to cancel that point out, but the ’Boro kept the Dubliners scoreless for the next 20 minutes while they worked their way back to level terms, Aoife Prendergast scoring two frees. Rachel Dowling scored a great point from play while under pressure from three defenders before Prendergast converted another free to put Dicksboro two points ahead. However, Vincent’s came back, Aisling Maher converting two frees to leave it all square at the break (0-5 to 0-5).

The champions were quick off the mark after the restart and looked to have taken a huge step towards retaining their title when a Niamh Hetherton goal and a Ava Lambe point shot them four clear inside five minutes.

However, Dicksboro never panicked.

Aoife Prendergast started the comeback with a 39th minute free. This was followed by a Rachel Dowling. She turned provider for their next score, playing a perfect pass to captain Jenny Clifford who turned and shot over a lovely point.

The Boro kept their scoring run going as Prendergast converted another two points from frees before Amy Clifford chipped in for her second point of the game after great defending from the ’Boro defence. Katie Byrne cleared upfield, one of her many great clearances during the match and found Clifford, who slotted over the bar from the Terrace sideline.

When Rachel Dowling added another point from play it meant Dicksboro had struck seven in a row. That left them 0-12 to 1-6 ahead, an advantage they wouldn’t relinquish.

In the 57th minute St Vincent’s were awarded a 30 metre free. Left with no option Aisling Maher went for goal, but the ’Boro defence deflected it out for a 45. Maher slotted it over the bar for what proved to be her side’s final score – Dicksboro were champions!

Amy Clifford picked up the Player of the Match award for Dicksboro, who will now play Loughiel Shamrocks of Antrim in the All-Ireland semi-final on Saturday, December 2 at a venue to be confirmed.

Teams and scorers

Dicksboro – Aoife Prendergast (0-6, frees), Rachel Dowling (0-3), Amy Clifford (0-2), Jenny Clifford (0-1).

St Vincent’s – Aisling Maher (0-4, 0-3 frees); Niamh Hetherton (1-0); Ali Maguire, Anna Sullivan, Ava Lambe (0-1 each).

Dicksboro – Kirsty Maher; Jane Cass, Tara Clifford, Katie Byrne; Niamh Phelan, Caoimhe Dowling, Ciara Phelan; Ciara O’Shea, Aobha O’Gorman; Asha McHardy, Amy Clifford, Rachel Dowling; Aoife Prendergast, Orla Hanrick, Jenny Clifford (capt).

Subs: Niamh O’Donoghue, Danielle Kenny, Tara McGrath, Bronagh Doheny, Lucinda Gahan, Caoimhe Carroll, Angela Carroll, Rose Kelly, Aisling Browne, Sarah O’Gorman, Orlaith Moore, Emer Phelan, Becky Peters, Sinead Carroll, Isabel Roberts, Rachael Egan, Isabelle Fahy, Isabelle Egan, Kate O’Neill, Libby Carroll.

St Vincent’s – Dara Cooke; Ciara O’Leary, Grace Gilroy, Lora Smith; Grainne Quinn, Aine Woods, Ellen McGovern; Muireann Kelleher, Danielle Smith (capt); Claire Clinton, Aisling Maher, Niamh Hetherton; Ava Lambe, Alie Maguire, Anna Sullivan.


Subs: Caoimhe Woods for Alie Maguire, Abby Farrell, Isobel Maher, Aoife Moore, Caoimhe Walshe, Aoife Traynor, Tess Coyne

Read more

Back to news