Junior Joy for Lockes/’Bridge

by on the 3rd of November 2023

Kilkenny Rivercourt Hotel Premier Junior County Final

John Lockes/Bennettsbridge 0-16

Graiguenamanagh 2-2

By Aoife Lanigan, PRO

The pain of defeat from last year’s final was washed away as the John Lockes/Bennettsbridge team clinched the Junior county title

Beaten in the 2022 decider by Carrickshock, the combined side made no mistake second around as they beat Graiguenamanagh in Dunmore

The winners were first off the mark, Aisling O’Sullivan opening the scoring with a point. Like scores from sisters Laura and Rachel Phelan followed by Megan Walsh, Orlaith O’Connell and O’Sullivan (free) gave them a six point cushion after 17 minutes

Graig needed to get into the game and made a start when Aisling Prendergast grabbed their first point from a free. However Rachel Phelan hit back with some great points for the Lockes/’Bridge, scoring one while losing her footing on the slippery sod


When Aisling O’Sullivan added another point from play for the combined team things looked grim for Graig, but they got a life line in the 26th minute when Aisling Prendergast’s speculative shot deceived the goalie and dipped under the crossbar

The combined side recovered from that setback, O’Sullivan finishing the scoring with a point that left them 0-10 to 1-1 in front at the break

Graig were quickest out of the blocks on the restart, Aisling Prendergast scoring a point. The new half was only 7 minutes old when Graig were awarded a Penalty. Aisling Prendergast stood over the sliotar and she made no mistake, drilling her low shot past the goalie into the bottom corner of the net. It was a tonic score, but also proved to be their last of the match.


The winners knuckled down for the reminder of the game, adding to their lead as they closed in on the title. With points from Orlaith O’Connell, Rachel Phelan (2), Laura Phelan, Aisling O’Sullivan and Vivienne Holmes the pain of last year was erased as John Lockes/Bennettsbridge got their hands on the silverware


Scorers – John Lockes/Bennettsbridge – Aisling O’Sullivan 0-5 (2f), Rachel Phelan 0-5 (1f), Laura Phelan, Orlaith O’Connell 0-2 each, Vivienne Holmes, Megan Walsh 0-1 each

Graiguenamanagh – Aisling Prendergast 2-2 (1-0 penalty, 0-1f)

John Lockes/Bennettsbridge – Dominque Delaney, Rachel Hartley, Eimear Mahon, Abby Wemyss, Kym Ryan, Meg Ryan, Luci Brennan, Laura Phelan, Rachel Phelan, Aisling O’Sullivan, Vivienne Holmes, Orlaith O’Connell, Caoimhe Shiel, Elizabeth Keher, Megan Walsh

Subs – Aoibhe Ryan for Elizabeth Keher, Sarah Roche for Orlaith O’Connell, Lucy Walsh for Megan Walsh, Tara Coyne for , Laura Duggan for  , Aine Dowling, Niamh Hogan, Sarah Keher, Lucy O’Sullivan, Lauran Hartley, Erika Dunne, Ciara Byrne, Erika Byrne, Kyla Byrne, Hannah Keher, Jessie Sharpe, Aoife Lynch, Erin Morrissey, Julie Nolan, Sal Ryan, Maggie Delahunty

Graiguenamanagh – Kelly Ann Whelan, Lily Treacy, Ellen Delaney, Leanne Farrell, Ava Prendergast, Darcy Bolger, Gemma Dunne, Rebecca Hayden, Hannah Moran, Denise Byrne, Sinead Lanigan, Lynda Murphy, Kitty O’Driscoll, Aisling Prendergast, Jessica Ryan

Subs – Sinead Fenlon for Jessica Ryan, Alicia Barrett for Lily Treacy, Jenny Dunne for Kitty O’Driscoll, Eimear Holden for Denise Byrne, Holly Brooks, Kayla Dunne, Lucy O’Driscoll, Aoife Cahill, Fiona Long, Roisin Moran, Orla Stafford

Read more

Back to news