Dominant Dicksboro are Senior Champions again

by on the 26th of October 2023

Michael Lyng Motors Hyundai Senior County Final

Dicksboro 3-18

Windgap 1-11

By Aoife Lanigan, PRO

A powerful first half performance saw a dominant Dicksboro get their hands on the county senior camogie crown

Dicksboro are Michael Lyng Motors Hyundai Senior Champions for 2023 after defeating Windgap in Mooncoin GAA last Saturday afternoon

Playing in their fourth final appearance in five years the ‘Boro made their experience count as they hit first time finalists Windgap with a storm in Mooncoin on Saturday

The city side were quick off the mark, taking the lead with an Amy Clifford point but Windgap were no slouches in the scoring department – Denise Gaule levelled matters with a free before Nathania Jackson edged her side ahead with a lovely point

Dicksboro charged back, hitting four points without reply from Asha McHardy (2), Rachel Dowling and Aobha O’Gorman to stamp their authority on the game.

Gaule and McHardy traded points before ‘Boro before Boro captain Jenny Clifford hit the net for the first of her side’s goals


Although Ciara O’Shea pulled a point back for Windgap the ‘Boro were on full charge, stretching their lead through Amy Clifford and Aoife Prendergast (two frees)

The cityside cemented their dominance on the game when Prendergast teed up McHardy to rattle the net. The goal capped a fine first half of Dicksboro, who led 2-11 to 0-5 at the break

The ‘Boro picked up where they left off on the restart. Aoife Prendergast added two points before Orla Hanrick found the back of the net to put them 17 points ahead.

Windgap were facing an uphill task, but battled hard to get back into the game. Denise Gaule slotted over two points for the country side, but Rachel Dowling and Aoife Prendergast cancelled those out with a point a piece for the ‘Boro. Denise Gaule replied again with two more frees but Dicksboro replied with three unanswered points from Asha McHardy, Aoife Prendergast and Amy Clifford

Still Windgap fought on. Denise Gaule added two more points before heading towards full time, her side were awarded a 21m free. Gaule stood over the sliotar and even with a full compliment of Dicksboro defenders on the goal line, blasted the sliotar to the back of the net. It was a thunderous strike, but it wasn’t enough to prevent Dicksboro from claiming the title

Dicksboro will now set their sights on a run in Leinster. They will face St Martin’s, Wexford at a Kilkenny venue on November 5th

Scorers – Dicksboro – Aoife Prendergast 0-8 (7f), Asha McHardy 1-4, Amy Clifford 0-3, Jenny Clifford, Orla Hanrick 1-0 each, Rachel Dowling 0-2, Aobha O’Gorman 0-1

Windgap – Denise Gaule 1-9 (1-7f), Nathania Jackson 0-1, Ciara O’Shea 0-1 (1f)

Dicksboro – Kirsty Maher, Jane Cass, Tara Clifford, Katie Byrne, Niamh Phelan, Caoimhe Dowling, Ciara O’Shea, Ciara Phelan, Aobha O’Gorman, Asha McHardy, Amy Clifford, Rachel Dowling, Aoife Prendergast, Orla Hanrick, Jenny Clifford (Capt)

Subs – Tara McGrath for Orla Hanrick, Niamh O’Donoghue, Danielle Kenny, Bronagh Doheny, Sarah O’Gorman, Caoimhe Carroll, Angela Carroll, Rose Kelly, Aisling Browne, Orlaith Moore, Emer Phelan, Becky Peters, Sinead Carroll, Eva Healy, Issey Carroll, Isabel Roberts, Rachel Egan, Isabelle Fahy, Isabelle Egan, Kate O’Neill, Lucinda Gahan

Windgap – Ali Kennedy, Eimear Moylan, Catherine Foley, Sarah Doherty, Gillian Costello, Michaela Kenneally, Orlaith O’Shea, Denise Gaule, Nathania Jackson, Cliodhna O’Shea, Molly Walsh, Ciara O’Shea, Sontae Jackson, Deirdre Purcell, Caoimhe O’Shea

Subs – Jenny Saunders for Sontae Jackson, Joanne Cody for Deirdre Purcell, Eimear Smith for Ciara O’Shea, Clare Grace for Orlaith O’Shea, Megan Kenneally for Caoimhe O’Shea, Sarah McCarthy, Caoimhe Power, Ava Lily O’Neill, Denise Foley, Emily Murphy, Emer Barron, Mags Foley, Aisling O’Shea

Read more

Back to news