Extra-time ecstasy for Rower

by on the 26th of October 2023

Shaws Department Stores Intermediate County Final

Rower Inistioge 1-11

Mooncoin 0-12

By Aoife Lanigan, PRO

The Rower Inistioge are Kilkenny Camogie Intermediate Champions but had to endure a nervous finish before getting their hands on the silverware

In a tight game which went all the way to the wire, the Rower were three points to the good in the dying seconds of extra time when Sarah Crowley made a burst for goal for Mooncoin

Needing a big score to level the game again Crowley, who had moved from defence into attack for the 20 minutes of additional time , broke onto a ball cleared from the Rower lines. As she ran towards the goal she hit a bullet-like strike – but the sliotar flew over the bar

With the weather forcing a change in venue for Saturday’s final Mooncoin made their home advantage count by opening the scoring, Deirdre Walsh pushing them ahead with a pointed free. Niamh Crowley doubled their advantage before Caoimhe Keher Murtagh & Cria Langton (f) hit back as the Rower drew level by the 14th minute (0-2 to 0-2)

In a tight game where neither side was willing to give way, scores proved hard to come by. The stalemate continued over the 16 minutes until just before injury time, the Rower were awarded a 30m free and Cria Langton duly split the posts leaving her side a point ahead at the break (0-3 to 0-2)

With the lead in their possession the Rower worked hard to stay in front.  No sooner had play resumed than Caoimhe Keher Murtagh extended their advantage with a fine point

Back came Mooncoin. Sarah Crowley slotted over a point for Mooncoin from play after bursting out from defence. Cria Langton (RI) and Deirdre Walsh swapped pointed frees before Langton put the Rower ahead by two points

However, just as the Rower were beginning to enjoy their lead, it was wiped out. Deirdre Walsh converted two frees to level the game again before pushing Mooncoin ahead with a pointed free.

With two minutes of normal time left Mooncoin looked to have one hand on the title. However, in the last second of the game Cria Langton held her nerve to fire over an equalising free, sending the game to extra time (0-7 to 0-7)

From the throw in, Mooncoin went on the attack. They played the sliotar towards the Rower goal, where Niamh Crowley slotted over a lovely point

Play quickly swung the other way as Sarah Ryan equalised after a neat had pass from Cria Langton. The provider then turned scorer, slotting over a point of her own to leave the Rower 0-9 to 0-9 in front six minutes of extra time

The match which had been very tight all the way through, finally turned the Rower’s way when they struck for the only goal of the game in the eight minute of extra time. Waiting for breaking ball from a ruck, Caoimhe Keher Murtagh timed her attack to perfection. She ran at speed towards goal, pausing only to crash home a rasper of a shot that saw the Rower open a four point lead (1-9 to 0-8)

Mooncoin were stunned by the goal, but recovered to shave a point off the deficit, Niamh Crowley grabbed a minor score to leave three between the teams at the break (1-9 to 0-9)

The action resumed with Cria Langton and Deirdre Walsh trading points before Caoimhe Keher Murtagh scored a great point for the Rower

Deirdre Walsh then slotted over a pointed free for Mooncoin to leave three points in it. They kept pressing for the goal that would restore parity, but came up a stubborn Rower defence who were determined to hold on to their lead.

Sarah Crowley’s late charge sparked a flutter of panic, but the Rower were mightily relieved to see the sliotar scorch over the bar. The Title was theirs!

The Rower will now go forward to represent Kilkenny in the Leinster Intermediate Club Championship. They play Buffers Alley, Wexford at a Kilkenny venue on Sunday

Scorers – Rower Inistioge – Cria Langton 0-7 (0-6f), Caoimhe Keher Murtagh 1-3, Sarah Ryan 0-1

Mooncoin – Deirdre Walsh 0-7(7f), Niamh Crowley 0-3, Sarah Crowley 0-2

Rower Inistioge – Emma Kavanagh, Grace Galavan, Sinead Kelly, Grainne Kelly, Ellen Murphy, Aine Gannon, Aine Galavan, Christine Lyng, Aisling Kelly (Capt), Rachel O’Dwyer, Cria Langton, Ciara Foskin (Vice Captain), Caoimhe Keher Murtagh, Kelly Hamilton, Katelyn Kelly

Subs – Sophie Chapman for Katelyn Kelly, Amy Ryan for Ellen Murphy, Lizzie Lyng for Ciara Foskin, Sarah Ryan for Rachel O’Dwyer, Caitriona Ryan, Aideen Foskin, Laura Prendergast, Roisin Leahy, Nora Hanrahan, Laura Bolger, Fiona Carroll, Eadaoin Walsh, Emma Galavan

Mooncoin – Ellen Crowley, Marianne Walsh, Niamh Madden (Capt), Mairead Corcoran, Eimear Quilty, Sarah Crowley, Emily Crowley, Laura Dillon Dunphy, Muireann Gannon, Sarah Hayes, Roisin Hayes, Deirdre Walsh, Niamh Crowley, Laura Wall, Lauren Comerford

Subs – Shauna Walsh for Marianne Walsh, Hannah Cooney for Roisin Crowley, Eva Aylward for Laura Wall, Aine Aylward for Muireann Gannon, Lorraine Delahunty, Kate Kearns, Evelyn Hayes, Caitriona Bowe, Jessica Roche, Catherine Connolly, Aoife Purcell, Jean O’Hanlon, Lisa Hayes, Aoife Roche, Ellen O’Keeffe

Read more

Back to news