Kilkenny River Court Junior League Semi Final – Graiguenamanagh v Tullogher

by on the 27th of September 2023

Kilkenny River Court Junior League Semi Final

Graiguenamanagh 1-12

Tullogher 2-4

By Aoife Lanigan, PRO

Graiguenamanagh qualified for the Kilkenny River Court Hotel Junior League Final after defeating Tullogher in Grennan, Thomastown on Sunday afternoon

Aisling Prendergast opened the scoring with a pointed free for Graiguenamanagh. Leah Hanrahan equalised for Tullogher from a placed ball. Leah then put Tullogher ahead with another pointed free before Hannah Moran equalised with a fine point from play

Denise Byrne laid off a perfect handpass to the unrushing Lynda Murphy and she slotted over the bar for Graiguenamanagh

From the puckout, Tullogher’s Clara Kennedy fielded the sliotar and took off at speed and she hit a rasper of a shot past the Graiguenamanagh goalie. Sarah Lawlor then scored a point from play to put Tullogher three ahead but Graig didn’t panic. Denise Byrne found Aisling Prendergast with the perfect handpass and Aisling rattled the back of the Tullogher net to leave the game all square

Prendergast then added two pointed frees to leave Graiguenamanagh leading 1-5 to 1-3 at the interval

On the resumption of play, Graig extended their lead with a point from play from Denise Byrne. Aisling Prendergast added another two pointed frees for Graig with midfielder Rebecca Hayden and Full Forward Denise Byrne also getting on the scoring sheet with a point each

Leah Hanrahan stopped the scoring rot, with a pointed free for Tullogher before Aisling Prendergast another two points from placed balls

Then heading towards full time, Tullogher’s Kate Lyng ran down the stand sideline and hit a shot towards goal, it bounced in front of the goalie, deceiving her and flew into the net

This was the final score of the match, Graiguenamanagh coming out the winners on a 1-12 to 2-4 scoreline

Scorers – Graiguenamanagh – Aisling Prendergast 1-7 (6f), Denise Byrne 0-2, Hannah Moran, Lynda Murphy, Rebecca Hayden 0-1 each

Tullogher – Leah Hanrahan 0-3 (3f), Kate Lyng, Clara Kennedy 1-0 each, Sarah Lawlor 0-1

Graiguenamanagh – Kelly Ann Whelan, Lily Treacy, Ellen Delaney, Jessica Ryan, Gemma Dunne, Darcy Bolger, Kitty O’Driscoll, Rebecca Hayden, Ava Prendergast, Aisling Prendergast, Lynda Murphy, Holly Brooks, Eimear Holden, Denise Byrne, Hannah Moran

Subs – Sinead Lanigan (Capt) for Eimear Holden, Alicia Barrett, Jenny Dunne, Sinead Fenlon, Fiona Lyng, Roisin Moran, Aoife Cahill, Lucy O’Driscoll, Kayla Dunne

Tullogher – Emma Barron, Clara Murphy, Eabha Doyle, Annie Ryan, Anna Phelan, Katie Bookle, Aimee Hanrahan, Maeve Bookle, Ciara Mullally, Kate Lyng, Grace Glennon, Mollie Ryan, Clara Kennedy, Leah Hanrahan, Sarah Lawlor

Subs – Sarah O’Sullivan for Grace Glennon, Eve Prendergast for Sarah Lawlor, Orla Murphy, Laura Kennedy, Siobhan Cummins, Ciara Walsh, Brigid Kilbane inj, Sarah Hennessy inj, Emma Moran inj, Aoibhinn Walsh

Read more

Back to news