Shaws Department Store Intermediate League Semi Final – O’Loughlin Gaels v Mooncoin

by on the 27th of September 2023

Shaws Department Store Intermediate League Semi Final

O’Loughlin Gaels 0-10

Mooncoin 0-8

By Aoife Lanigan, PRO

O’Loughlin Gaels are through to the Shaws Department Stores Intermediate League Final after defeating Mooncoin in Grennan, Thomastown on Sunday morning last

Deirdre Walsh opened the scoring for Mooncoin with a beautiful point out on the sideline. Laura Murphy equalised for O’Loughlin Gaels two minutes later with a pointed free

Walsh & Murphy traded points to leave it 2 points a piece after seven minutes. Mooncoin then went ahead from a pointed free from Deirdre Walsh and extended their lead when Sarah Crowley burst out of defence and laid off the sliotar to Lauren Comerford who slotted over the bar

O’Loughlin Gaels started to dominate proceedings, Jen O’Keeffe played a neat pass to Laura Greene and she split the posts. Then two minutes later, after a poor clearance from Mooncoin, Laura Murphy ran at pace towards the opposition goal and fired over the bar to equalise

O’Loughlins were awarded a free on the 50m line, it was blocked out by the Mooncoin defence but O’Loughlins Capt Nyah Egan was quickest to react and scored a fine point

The last score of the half was a pointed free from Laura Murphy to leave the interval score 0-6 to 0-4 in favour of the Cityside

On the resumption of play, Deirdre Walsh pointed a free for Mooncoin, but Laura Murphy added two pointed frees for O’Loughlins to put them three ahead

Deidre Walsh tagged on two points for the Southern side to bring it back to the minimum

Laura Greene then scored a lovely point after Aoife Shealy played a neat pass to her

Over the next eight minutes neither team could add to their tally until Laura Murphy scored a nice point from play

Deirdre Walsh finished the match scoring with a pointed free for Mooncoin but it wasn’t enough to stop O’Loughlins heading to the League Final in two weeks against Rower Inistioge

Scorers – O’Loughlin Gaels – Laura Murphy 0-7 (6f), Laura Greene 0-2, Nyah Egan 0-1

Mooncoin – Deirdre Walsh 0-7 (6f), Lauren Comerford (0-1)

O’Loughlin Gaels – Kate Furlong, Sheena O’Keeffe, Neasa Galwey, Ailbhe Galwey, Jen Holohan, Danielle Quigley, Jen O’Keeffe, Nyah Egan (Capt), Laura Greene, Laura Murphy, Abigail Egan, Emma Poyntz, Riona Crowley, Aisling Butler, Aoife Shealy

Subs – Ena Lawlor for Riona Crowley, Ava Vaughan, Siofra O’Leary, Ava O’Grady, Hannah Quinn, Shauna Ryan, Laura Butler, Emma Dillon, Holly Kinchella, Sarah Blanchfield, Iveta Vasilianskaite, Eva Collins, Kate Lawless inj

Mooncoin – Ellen Crowley, Marianne Walsh, Niamh Madden (Capt), Mairead Corcoran, Eimear Quilty, Sarah Crowley, Emily Crowley, Laura Dillon Dunphy, Muireann Gannon, Sarah Hayes, Roisin Crowley, Deirdre Walsh, Niamh Crowley, Laura Wall, Lauren Comerford

Subs – Hannah Cooney for Sarah Hayes, Lorraine Delahunty, Shauna Walsh, Kate Kearns, Evelyn Hayes, Caitriona Bowe, Aine Aylward, Jessica Roche, Catherine Connolly, Eva Aylward, Aoife Purcell, Jean O’Hanlon, Lisa Hayes, Aoife Roche, Ellen O’Keeffe

Read more

Back to news