Limerick snatch late win over Kilkenny Under 16s

by on the 17th of May 2023

U16 A Kilkenny v Limerick All Ireland Championship. Freshford Kilkenny 2pm Sunday 14th May

By Assistant PRO Mark Flynn.

Referee Ray Kelly started on time and Limerick came out fast and ran at Kilkenny, within the first few minutes Kilkenny goalkeeper Jenny Saunders suffered an injury which resulted in Kilkenny changing their goalkeeper and brought on Katelyn O Connor.

Limerick made the most of their chances and drove hard through the first half and created the better chances. Rachel O Grady got the first point for Limerick followed by a long ball from Mia Smith point from play.

Limerick won a Kilkenny puck out and after a couple of passes Rachel O Grady popped over another point.

Kilkenny pushed the Limerick defence but a big long puck from Emma Doherty in the Limerick goal found Mia Smith for her second point from play.

Limerick with confidence pushed at Kilkenny again, and when Hazel Morgan and Laura Flynn linked up it was Laura that hit the back of the net goal Limerick.

Kilkenny pushed on and got a point from play from Ciara Delaney after a battle in midfield.

Emily Cooney for Kilkenny tried to run and make space, Shona Ruane at full back held back a Limerick attack but Limerick received a free and Caitlin Ryan stepped up to take a point.

With scrappy play around the middle of the pitch both teams tried to get the upper hand.

Limerick were strong in attack and Kilkenny stood firm.

Kilkenny managed to recover from that advance and made their way up the pitch and a well-deserved point from play by Michelle Killeen saw the first half come to an end with the score 1-5 to 0-2 in favour of the visitors

It was a strong start to the second half for both teams but Kilkenny came with a different mindset and Aisling O’Sullivan found the back of the net for them.

This was quickly followed by points by O’Sullivan and Emily Phelan.

Limerick returned fire when Caitlin Ryan took another point.

Kilkenny went on the attack when Ella O Reilly launched a long ball for Michelle Killeen to chase, and she knocked over another point for the home side.

Limerick made another run only to be stopped again by Shona Ruane who drove the ball long for Emily Cooney to give chase and take a shot at goal which was saved by Emma Doherty.

Limerick went on a run at Kilkenny only to lose their advantage and give away a free, which was converted by Rachel Phelan

With only a couple of minutes left on the clock the score was level 1-6 to both teams, both sets of players were being lifted by the supporters in the stand.

Kilkenny pushed on and with two points scored, one by Rachel Phelan and the other by Niamh Davies it surely looked like Kilkenny had done enough.

But in the dying seconds Limerick pushed again after a great puck from Emma Doherty in the Limerick goal and that sent Molly Tobin rushing straight at Kilkenny and found the back of the net, goal Limerick.

The referee then blew the final whistle as Limerick claimed a one point victory

Kilkenny Scorers – Aisling O’Sullivan 1-1, Michelle Killeen 0-2, Rachel Phelan 0-2 (0-1f), Ciara Delaney, Niamh Davis, Emily Phelan 0-1 each

Limerick Scorers – Laura Flynn, Molly Tobin 1-0 each, Caitlin Ryan, Rachel O’Grady, Mia Smith 0-2 each

Kilkenny – Jenny Saunders, Ella O’Reilly, Shona Ruane, Orla Phelan, Siofra O’Leary, Molly Conroy, Rachel Phelan, Ena Lawlor, Emily Cooney, Ciara Delaney, Michelle Killeen, Aisling O’Shea, Aisling O’Sullivan, Emily Phelan, Lucy Boyd

Subs – Katelyn O’Connor for Jenny Saunders, Niamh Davis, Siofraidh Kennedy, Kate Dowling, Eabha Mullally, Jill O’Brien, Roisin Leahy, Caoimhe Power, Rebecca Hayden, May Cummins, Katelyn Phelan, Eimear O’Neill, Rhianna Scott, Roisin Burns, Aoife Dooley, Alex Brennan, Siobhan Kenny, Grace Brennan (Joint Captain), Jessica Smith, Ciara O’Shea, Grainne O’Loughlin, (Joint Captain), Molly Cummins

Limerick – Emma Doherty, Ornagh Barrett, Mai McKenna, Jayne Casey, Ciara Curtin, Eimear O’Donovan, Emma Mullins, Hazel Horgan, Caitlin Ryan, Grace Hegarty, Maeve Geary, Sophie Carey, Aoibhinn O’Connor, Laura Flynn, Rachel O’Grady

Subs – Kaelin Ryan, Carrie McCormack, Abbie Mulqueen, Sarah Horgan, Lucy Murray, Ruby Molloy, Aislinn O’Callaghan, Molly Tobin, Evelyn Wrenn, Robyn Darcy, Chloe Enright, Mia Smith, Amber O’Sullivan Hunt

Referee – Ray Kelly (Kildare)


Read more

Back to news