Leinster joy as Loreto take city bragging rights

by on the 18th of January 2023

Leinster joy as Loreto take city bragging rights

Loreto Kilkenny 4-10 Pres Kilkenny 1-9

By Aoife Lanigan, PRO

Loreto Kilkenny were crowned Leinster senior champions for the 14th time after beating their city rivals the Pres.

Rachel Dowling opened the scoring at a chilly Thomastown on Saturday with a pointed free for Loreto, but the Pres hit back in style and grabbed a goal from their first real opportunity. Alarm bells rang when the sliotar became embedded in the soft turf – it was pounced on by Niamh Davis, who slotted passed the ball past advancing Ali Kennedy.

The Loreto responded, Julie Lennon scoring an excellent point from play before Caoimhe Keher-Murtagh equalised with a like score.

The winners upped the pace from the puckout. Lauren East (L) played the sliotar to their full-forward Ciara Dunne, who ran at speed towards goal and hit a rasper to the back of the net to leave the Loreto 1-3 to 0-3 in front.

Aine Rohan narrowed the gap with two points for Presentation, one from a placed ball, but the game turned in Loreto’s favour when Julie Lennon shot towards goal from the wing. The Presentation goalie seemed to have it covered but possession fell straight to the waiting Ciara Dunne, who lashed it to the net.

Two minutes later, Niamh Holohan took a shot from distance. Again Dunne was quickest to react, flicking the sliotar to the back of the net to make it 3-3 to 1-2.

It looked like that Loreto would kick on but Presentation came back into the game, scoring the next four points through Lauren Ronan (two frees), Cliodhna Murphy and Rachel Phelan. With their defence keeping the Loreto from scoring again the tie was delicately balanced as the teams trooped off at the break (3-3 to 1-6).

Both defences stood strong on the resumption, with neither side breaking the deadlock until Lauren Ronan pointed a 37th minute free for the Pres. The Loreto made a change after that, bringing on Amy Clifford for Niamh Holohan. Clifford was quick into action, converting a free after Julie Lennon was fouled. Lauren Ronan (P) and Rachel Dowling swapped points to leave the score at 3-5 to 1-8.

Loreto then hit 1-2 without reply, the points coming from Julie Lennon and Amy Clifford (free). The goal came from a Clifford free struck from 45 metres out – a mass of Pres players went up for the dropping ball and impeded each other, allowing the sliotar to drop into the net, putting the Loreto eight points ahead.

Laura Phelan rallied the Pres, scoring a point after a spell of intense pressure on the Loreto goal. However, this was their last score.

It was left to the champions to kick on. Amy Clifford scored the final three points for Loreto, all from frees, as they sealed the spoils.

Loreto play against the Munster Champions on Saturday 4th February at a Kilkenny venue


Loreto Kilkenny Scorers – Ciara Dunne 3-0, Amy Clifford 1-5 (1-5f), Rachel Dowling 0-2 (1f), Julie Lennon 0-2, Caoimhe Keher Murtagh 0-1

Presentation Kilkenny – Lauren Ronan 0-4 (4f), Niamh Davis 1-0, Aine Rohan 0-2 (1f), Cliodhna Murphy, Rachel Phelan, Laura Phelan 0-1 each

Loreto Kilkenny – Ali Kennedy (Windgap), Caoimhe Carroll (Dicksboro), Moya O’Brien (St Brigid’s), Orlaith Kirwan (Thomastown), Emma Corr (Clara), Rachel Brennan (Captain) (Tullaroan), Aisling Browne (Dicksboro), Lauren East (St Brigid’s), Caoimhe Keher Murtagh (Rower Inistioge), Emma Mulhall (Conahy Shamrocks), Claire Doheny (St Brigid’s), Niamh Holohan (Lisdowney), Julie Lennon (Young Irelands), Ciara Dunne (Tullaroan), Rachel Dowling (Dicksboro)

Subs – Anna Doheny (Tullaroan) for Emma Corr, Amy Clifford (Dicksboro) for Niamh Holohan, Rose Kelly (Dicksboro) for Rachel Dowling, Luci Brennan Bennettsbridge), Chloe Delaney (Lisdowney), Ava Dooley (Lisdowney), Roisin Hanlon (St Martin’s), Hannah Joyce (James Stephens), Ava McCabe (Conahy Shamrocks), Claire Murphy (Clara), Isabelle Egan (Dicksboro), Isabelle Fahy (Dicksboro), Abbie Gibbons (Durrow Harps), Lisa Kirby (Durrow Harps), Ambar Laherty (Mullinavat), Jenna Larkin (James Stephens), Tara McGrath (Dicksboro), Isabel Roberts (Dicksboro), Angela Carroll (Dicksboro), Louisa Gilmore (Danesfort), Aoife Shealy (O’Loughlin Gaels), Emily Smith (James Stephens), Lucy Body (Clara), Amy Lawless (Conahy Shamrocks), Marie O’Keeffe, (Young Irelands) (inj), Anna Scott, (Lisdowney) (inj)

Presentation Kilkenny – Clodagh O’Neill (Carrickshock), Robin Delaney (St Brigid’s), Emily Carroll (Carrickshock), Orlaith O’Shea (Carrickshock), Laura Phelan (John Lockes), Laoise Nolan (Clara), Lucy Walsh (Bennettsbridge), Rachel Phelan (John Lockes), Cady Boyle (James Stephens), Cliodhna Murphy (Blacks & Whites), Aine Rohan (Carrickshock), Eabha Carroll (Carrickshock), Niamh Davis (Danesfort), Lauren Ronan (St Brigid’s), Tara Roche (St Martin’s)

Subs – Emily Phelan (John Lockes) for Niamh Davis, Ciara Bryan (Young Irelands), Aoibhe Ryan (Thomastown), Niamh Galway (Thomastown), Aoife Coverdale (Thomastown), Tara McGuire (James Stephens), Olivia Dunphy (Carrickshock), Siobhan Kenny (St Brigid’s), Aoife O’Shea (Carrickshock), Ciara Heffernan (James Stephens), Leah Aylward (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Emily Doyle (Dicksboro), Louise Hearne (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Holly Begley (Thomastown), Lucy Canavan (James Stephens), Sophie Meagher (James Stephens), Laura Challoner (Thomastown), Ava Dermody (St Lachtain’s), Niamh Leahy (James Stephens), Mia Dunne (James Stephens), Emily Shortall (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Siofra O’Leary (O’Loughlin Gaels), Lucy Fitzgerald (Ballyhale Shamrocks)


Referee – Richie Fitzsimons (Offaly)

Read more

Back to news