Croker heartbreak for Village as Clonduff claim club crown

by on the 22nd of December 2022

AIB Intermediate Camogie Club All Ireland Final by Aoife Lanigan, PRO

James Stephens 1-6 Clonduff (Down) 0-12

It wasn’t to be James Stephens’ day as Down’s ice-cool Clonduff ended their hopes in a chilly Croke Park

Clonduff chasing their second title to add to their 2019 crown, made a bright start in the cold conditions. Paula O’Hagan opened the scoring with a pointed free before Sara Louise Graffin extended their lead with a point from play, referee Cathal McAllister playing the advantage after Graffin had been fouled

After a hesitant start the Village girls made their way into the game. Sophie O’Dwyer got them going in style, firing over a great pointed free from half way after Michelle Teehan had been dragged down. With 15 minutes on the clock they were just a point behind (0-2 to 0-1)

Sensing their rivals were starting to find their feet Clonduff hit back. Points from Graffin and O’Hagan plus a fine individual score from Ceallagh Byrne had the Ulster side four ahead after 21 minutes (0-5 to 0-1)


Clonduff were cruising, but they were about to be upended by a Kilkenny haymaker. The game took a decisive turn the Village’s way in the 25th minute when James Stephens Captain Niamh Deely shot towards the Hill 16 end, Clonduff goalie Katie McGilligan tried to bat the dropping sliotar out, but just like she did in the All Ireland Final in August, the excellent Sophie O’Dwyer slid in and grabbed a goal to get James Stephens back into the game

It was a morale boosting score, which was quickly followed by another. With 29th minute on the clock, O’Dwyer added to her tally, scoring the point that brought the sides level at 1-2 to 0-5 as the half time whistle was sounded

If anything the half time whistle came to Clonduff’s aid as it cooled the Village’s momentum. Using the break to clear their heads, Clonduff came back and dominated the early stages of the second half and went three points up through two O’Hagan frees and a brace from Graffin which were scored either side of O’Dwyer hitting back for the Village once again from a free, leaving the score 1-3 to 0-9 after 41 minutes

Sophie O’Dwyer and Niamh Deely closed the gap for the Kilkenny side to one point by the 46th minute. But Clonduff pushed on again in the final quarter with points from O’Hagan and Isabella O’Hare

Skimmed Bar

With time almost up James Stephens went for broke when they were awarded a 21m free in injury time, but Sophie O’Dwyer’s shot just skimmed over the bar. Right from the next play, Clonduff half back Katie Morgan raced through to stretch the gap to three with a fine point. It proved to be the insurance point, as they held that advantage until the Referee blew the full time whistle

Despite the result James Stephens can be very proud of the Year that they have had, winning Kilkenny County & Leinster Intermediate Titles, just two years after winning a Junior County Title and securing their place in the Senior ranks for the 2023 season

James Stephens Scorers – Sophie O’Dwyer 1-5 (5f), Niamh Deely 0-1

Clonduff Scorers – Paula O’Hagan 0-6 (4f, 1 45), Sara Louise Graffin 0-3, Cellagh Byrne, Isabella O’Hare, Katie Morgan 0-1 each

James Stephens – Lucy McGrath, Molly Burke, Emma Gaffney, Hannah Larkin, Emma Manogue, Aoife Cantwell, Hannah Scott, Michelle Teehan, Anna Doheny, Sophie O’Dwyer, Niamh Deely (Capt), Niamh Butler, Ciara Delaney, Rachel Leahy, Emily Smith

Subs – Caoimhe Moran for Niamh Butler, Tara McGuire for Caoimhe Moran, Kerri Hennessy, Anna Bergin, Cady Boyle, Hannah Joyce, Niamh O’Hara, Sophie Meagher, Ciara McDonald, Yoma Etefari, Emma O’Brien, Niamh Leahy, Ciara Heffernan, Chloe Power, Aine White

Clonduff – Katie McGilligan, Erin Rafferty, Jenna Boden (Capt), Niohmi Murray, Claire Kearney, Fionnuala Carr, Katie Morgan, Isabella O’Hare, Clare McGilligan, Cassie Fitzpatrick, Orla Gribben, Beth Fitzpatrick, Paula O’Hagan, Cellagh Byrne, Sara Louise Graffin

Subs – Orlaith McCusker for Orla Gribben (blood substitute), Orlaith McCusker for Niohmi Murray, Clara Cowan for Orla Gribben, Amy Morgan for Orlaith McCusker, Elizabeth Wilson, Niamh Fitzpatrick, Cara Boden, Ellen Shields, Caitlin Harper, Tiarna Savage, Hannah Wilson, Ursula Kearney, Ally Magee, Erin McAlinden, Erin Lively, Michaela Harper

Referee – Cathal McAllister (Cork)


Read more

Back to news