The Village show their class to win first Provincial Title

by on the 30th of November 2022

AIB Leinster Intermediate Final

James Stephens 1-7 Myshall 0-5

by Aoife Lanigan

James Stephens are AIB Leinster Intermediate Club Champions after defeating Myshall in a sunny Conneff Park, Clane, Co Kildare last Sunday

The Kilkenny side were hoping that after a slow start in the Semi Final against St Brigid’s (Laois), they would be quicker out of the blocks when posting their first score

In the 4th minute, Ciara Quirke opened the scoring with a pointed free for Myshall. Sophie O’Dwyer equalised for the Village from a free after Emma Manogue was fouled a minute later

This was quickly followed by a point from play by Sophie O’Dwyer after a great clearance from the Village defence by Emma Manogue

Myshall were level in the 8th minute, after a shot was deflected out for a 45’ by the Village goalie, Ciara Quirke converted the 45’

For the following six minutes, both defences stood strong and kept their goal intact

The Village took the lead in the 14th minute, a lead they would not relinquish, when the sliotar was played low into the corner by Niamh Deely. Rachel Leahy picked up the sliotar, turned and laid off a perfect hand pass to an onrushing Michelle Teehan, who blasted the sliotar passed Laura James in the Myshall goal to put the Kilkenny side 1-2 to 0-2 ahead

From the resulting puck out, Myshall won a free on the 21m line and Ciara Quirke converted the resulting placed ball

James Stephens kept Myshall from scoring for the rest of the half with very determined defending, they could afford to hit three wides themselves before Sophie O’Dwyer converted from a placed ball from the 21m line after Rachel Leahy was pulled down

For the next 12 minutes both teams tried to add to their tally but again both defences stood strong. The Referee, Ray Kelly who deputised at the last minute, blew the half time whistle with James Stephens leading 1-3 to 0-3

On the resumption of the new half, Caoimhe Jordan (M) and Sophie O’Dwyer traded points. The Village extended their lead to six points by the 46th minute with points from Sophie O’Dwyer, Niamh Deely and Emma Manogue, leaving the score 1-7 to 0-4. This was actually James Stephens last score the match

In the 50th minute, Caoimhe Jordan ran at the Village defence, Michelle Teehan tackled her well outside the box, the Referee played advantage and the Myshall player kept running, the Village defence had to do something and Teehan again tacked her and both ended on the turf. The Referee spread his arms and awarded a Penalty for Myshall. Ciara Quirke stood up to take it. Lucy McGrath in the Village goal watched as it sailed wide of the upright

Caoimhe Jordan scored a free for Myshall in the 52nd minute, their last point of the match. The final eight minutes, both teams again tried to add to their tally, but to no avail

Myshall were awarded a free heading towards the final whistle, Ciara Quirke sent it towards the top right corner, but it hit off the post and went wide, relief for the Village

Shortly after, the full-time whistle was blown and James Stephens were victorious on a 1-7 to 0-5 scoreline

The Village play Castlegar (Galway) in the AIB All Ireland Intermediate Club Semi Final on Saturday 10th December in St Brendan’s Park, Birr at 12 noon as part of a double header with the All-Ireland Senior Club Semi Final – St Vincent’s (Dublin) v Sarsfields (Galway)

Player of the Match – Emma Manogue, James Stephens

James Stephens Scorers – Sophie O’Dwyer 0-4 (2f), Michelle Teehan 1-0, Emma Manogue 0-2, Niamh Deely 0-1

Myshall Scorers – Ciara Quirke 0-3 (2f, 1 45), Caoimhe Jordan 0-2 (2f)

James Stephens – Lucy McGrath, Tara McGrath, Emma Gaffney, Hannah Larkin, Emma Manogue, Aoife Cantwell, Hannah Scott, Michelle Teehan, Anna Doheny, Sophie O’Dwyer, Niamh Deely (Capt), Niamh Butler, Ciara Delaney, Rachel Leahy, Mollie Burke

Subs – Emily Smith for Tara McGrath, Jenna Larkin for Niamh Butler, Kerri Hennessy, Anna Bergin, Cady Boyle, Hannah Joyce, Niamh O’Hara, Sophie Meagher, Ciara McDonald, Yoma Etefari, Emma O’Brien, Niamh Leahy, Ciara Heffernan, Aine White, Chloe Power, Caoimhe Moran

Myshall – Laura James, Kira Nolan, Michelle Nolan (Captain), Gillian Doyle, Aine Dolan, Kate Nolan, Rhiannon Kenny, Tara Wilson, Breege Nolan, Aimie Nolan, Caoimhe Jordan, Sarah Sheehan, Ali Ruschitzko, Ciara Quirke, Emma Coogan

Subs – Kim Doyle for Aimie Nolan, Therese Nolan, Michaela Donoghue, Leanne Nolan, Niamh Hamilton

Read more

Back to news