Bliss for ‘Boro as Senior title comes back to Palmerstown

by on the 17th of November 2021

Dicksboro 0-15 Piltown 2-8

There was delight at the end of the season as the Dicksboro senior camogie team got their hands on the county crown

The city side had to work hard for the spoils, putting in a late effort to overtake Piltown and make sure they earned their second title in three years

The Boro were quick to get going in Sunday’s final, played in John Locke Park, taking a first minute lead thanks to Amy Clifford opened the scoring from play after Aobha O’Gorman shot had been blocked out by the Piltown defence.

The South Kilkenny side weren’t behind for long, as talisman Katie Power equalised with a point from play in the 2nd minute. Aoife Prendergast and Amy Clifford extended the City side’s lead with a point a piece from play by the 6th minute. Niamh Culleton scored a lovely point on the run for Piltown.

Good Start

Amy Clifford continued her good start to the game, tacking on two points (1f), before Sophie Holden added a point from play in the 11th minute for Piltown. Aoife Doyle added another point from play for Piltown after the Referee consulted his umpires to narrow the gap to a point.

In the 12th minute, Piltown made a decisive dash. When the sliotar was played into the corner, Katie Power ran onto it. She rounded her marker, ran towards goal and hit an unstoppable shot passed Kirsty Maher in the Dicksboro goal

It was a big score, one that put Piltown ahead at the first Waterbreak (1-4 to 0-5)

Using the mini break to clear their heads, Dicksboro equalised by the 17th minute with points from play from Lucinda Gahan and Aobha O’Gorman. However, Piltown had the bit between their teeth – points from Niamh Culleton and Sophie Holden put Piltown ahead again with two well worked points from play

Dicksboro kept looking for a big score, but couldn’t get the green flag flying. They came very close in the 25th minute, when Aoife Prendergast took a shot towards the Piltown goalposts from 50m out on the stand sideline. The sliotar bounced straight in front of Piltown goalie, Aoife Norris who was mightily relived to see it bounce high over the bar

The City side kicked on, Jenny Clifford scored the equaliser for Dicksboro after Lucinda Gahan had picked out her out unmarked. Jenny slotted over the bar, leaving the sides level at half time (Dicksboro 0-9 Piltown 1-6)

The second half wasn’t on long before the sides traded scores. Sophie Holden pointed from play for Piltown before Aoife Prendergast equalised with a free for Dicksboro

The same player added another point in the 39th minute to put Dicksboro ahead. Three minutes later, Dicksboro were awarded a penalty, when Aobha O’Gorman was fouled in the square.

Amy Clifford stood up to take the penalty, but saw her shot flash wide of the mark

It was a huge let-off for Piltown, who took advantage of the miss to surge forward. From the puckout Piltown played the sliotar up towards Katie Power, she turned and laid it off to the onrushing Niamh Culleton. Seizing her chance, Culleton blasted it to the back of the Dicksboro net to put Piltown ahead 2-7 to 0-11 at the second waterbreak

Rather than panic, Dicksboro showed their composure to take control of the game in the final quarter.

Amy Clifford added two points from frees to equalise and then scored another free in the 53rd minute to put Dicksboro ahead.

Lucinda Gahan scored her second points for the city side just on the hour mark. Piltown did try their best to get scores – Katie Power narrowed the gap to the minimum from a close in free – but the ‘Boro weren’t about to relinquish their lead now

The referee blew the full time whistle shortly after – Dicksboro were Senior County Champions for the Second time in three years

Scorers – Dicksboro – Amy Clifford (0-7, 4f), Aoife Prendergast (0-4, 1f), Lucinda Gahan (0-2), Aobha O’Gorman, Jenny Clifford (0-1 each)

Piltown – Katie Power (1-2), Niamh Culleton (1-2), Sophie Holden (0-3), Aoife Doyle (0-1)

Dicksboro – Kirsty Maher, Kate Dempsey, Ciara O’Shea, Katie Byrne, Tara Clifford, Niamh Phelan, Jane Cass, Aoife Prendergast (Capt), Ciara Phelan, Asha McHardy, Lucinda Gahan, Caoimhe Dowling, Amy Clifford, Aobha O’Gorman, Jenny Clifford. Subs – Orla Hanrick for Kate Dempsey (41), Rachel Egan, Issey Carroll, Caoimhe Carroll, Ellie Peters, Grainne Hennessy, Aisling Morrissey, Sarah O’Gorman, Emer Phelan, Rachel Dowling, Bronagh Doheny, Emer Stynes, Niamh Ryan

Piltown – Aoife Norris, Jennifer Norris, Jenni O’Dea, Patsy Kenny, Mairead Power, Kellyann Doyle (Capt), Lorraine Long (Vice Captain), Laura Norris, Emer Long, Ellen O’Keeffe, Alanna Gallagher, Aoife Doyle, Sophie Holden, Katie Power, Niamh Culleton, Subs – Sinead McCarthy for Ellen O’Keeffe (41), Lorna O’Shea for Alanna Gallagher (55 min inj), Danielle O’Brien, Emily McCarthy, Rachel O’Shea, Chloe Power, Aine Power, Sarah Tobin, Maire Beth Kirby, Katelynn Phelan, Nicola Phelan, Shauna Cody, Lisa Norris, Ciara Dunne, Lisa McCarthy, Aine Doyle, Karen Duggan, Marlise Flynn, Stacey O’Brien

Referee – Owen Behan

Player of the Match – Niamh Phelan, Dicksboro


Read more

Back to news