High-scoring champions Dicksboro bounce back with big victory

by on the 19th of August 2020

Marble City Travel Kilkenny Senior Camogie Championship – Sunday, 16th August 2020

Dicksboro 3-18 Tullaroan 1-5

Reigning County Champions Dicksboro bounced back after their opening round defeat with an emphatic victory over Tullaroan in the Marble City Travel Senior Championship

Dicksboro were the first to open their account in Tullaroan on Sunday, Orla Hanrick scoring a neat point from play with less than a minute on the clock. Ciara Phelan added another point from play a minute later.

It was all one-way traffic for the ‘Boro in the opening quarter. Hanrick (2) and Asha McHardy added points from play before Niamh Dowling opened Tullaroan’s account with a 17th minute 45’, leaving Dicksboro 0-5 Tullaroan 0-1 in front

Dicksboro completely dominated for the rest of the first half, keeping Tullaroan scoreless. Caoimhe Dowling kept their scoring show going when she cut through the Tullaroan defence and scored a lovely point

That score was followed by a penalty, awarded after Orla Hanrick was fouled. Hanrick dusted herself down and blasted the sliotar to the back of the net

Caoimhe Dowling added a further point from play in the 24th minute. Then from the puckout, the ‘Boro won tidy possession and Asha McHardy ran at speed down the sideline, cut in towards goal before unleashing a powerful shot past the Tullaroan goalkeeper. McHardy closed out the first half scoring with a point from play leaving Dicksboro 2-8 to 0-1 in front

The city side were quick to get going on the second half. Lucinda Gahan soloed through the Tullaroan defence, hand passing to Caoimhe Dowling who slotted over her third point from play. That score was followed by another Orla Hanrick 30m free as Dicksboro kept hunting for scores

From the puckout, Miriam Walsh won possession and headed towards the ‘Boro goal before she was hauled down in the square – Penalty. Walsh hit a rasper of a shot, only to see it come back off the crossbar and cleared away. Tullaroan recycled play, earning a point when Niamh Dowling converted after a foul on Noelle Maher

Dicksboro hit back, stringing together five points between the 42nd and 48th minute through Orla Hanrick (2), Jenny Clifford, Amy Clifford & Asha McHardy

Noelle Maher stopped the rot in the 49th minute point for Tullaroan, but Dicksboro raffled off another four points without reply. Great teamwork saw the sliotar played up to Asha McHardy who passed it out to Jenny Clifford. She then became the provider when she played a neat ball into the unmarked Orla Hanrick, who slotted it over the bar


Amy Clifford then scored a goal with an unstoppable shot past the Tullaroan goalkeeper. The same player added a further point from play a minute later. On the 54th minute, Orla Hanrick scored Dicksboro’s last point from a 21m free.

Over the closing seven minutes, Dicksboro eased off the throttle and allowed Tullaroan get on top, with Niamh Dowling scoring 1-2. The goal coming from a 45’, which deceived the ‘Boro defence

Dicksboro – Orla Hanrick (1-8, goal penalty, 4f), Asha McHardy (1-3), Amy Clifford (1-2), Caoimhe Dowling (0-30, Ciara Phelan, Jenny Clifford (0-1 each)

Tullaroan – Niamh Dowling (1-4, goal 45’, 2f, 1 45), Noelle Maher (0-1)

Dicksboro – Kirsty Maher, Jane Cass, Ciara O’Shea, Orlaith Moore, Tara Clifford, Aoife Prendergast, Niamh Phelan, Ciara Phelan, Aobha O’Gorman, Asha McHardy, Lucinda Gahan, Caoimhe Dowling, Jenny Clifford, Orla Hanrick (Captain), Lisa Hanrick

Subs – Amy Clifford for Lisa Hanrick, Aisling Morrissey for Aobha O’Gorman, Ciara Mullen for Tara Clifford, Kate Dempsey for Orlaith Moore, Sonja Buggy for Kirsty Maher, Sue Kennedy, Katie Byrne, Issey Shine, Ellie Peters

Tullaroan – Marlis Walsh, Sinead Murphy, Sinead Keoghan, Grace Keoghan, Ciara Murphy (Captain), Caoimhe Holland, Rachel Brennan, Grace Walsh, Ella Dillon, Anna McCabe, Miriam Walsh, Eadaoin Murphy, Niamh Dowling, Noelle Maher, Eimear Lanigan

Subs – Eimear Davis for Ella Dillon, Ciara Walsh for Anna McCabe, Emma Walsh, Ella Moore, Beth Grace, Clodagh Kenny, Amy Cleere, Shannon Bush, Aine Lanigan, Leanne Simpson, Aisling Treacy, Laoise Holland, Sophie Murphy, Rebecca Cuddihy, Leanne Cleere


Read more

Back to news