Martin’s do just enough to take the county title

by on the 22nd of November 2017

Marble City Travel U21B Final

St Martin’s 0-7

Danesfort 0-5

The conditions at this time of the year may add a degree of difficulty to games for players, but both St Martin’s & Danesfort gave their all in this fiercely fought Marble City Under 21 Roinn B Camogie Final

St Martin’s went two points up with frees by Rebecca Roche to make the running early on

Danesfort chased hard, but they had to wait until the twenty second minute to register their first score from a free by Jenny O’Neill

Between that score and half time, the North Kilkenny side added two more pointed frees through their free taker, Rebecca Roche

The ‘Fort added a point by Jenny O’Neill from a free which was sandwiched between the forementioned scores to leave the half time score 0-4 to 0-2 in favour of St Martin’s

The first score of the game from play arrived early in the second half when Edel Coonan fired over a point for the winners

Danesfort replied with a point from play through Megan Walsh and a Jenny O’Neill free to leave a single point between the sides

Action flowed

The action flowed from end to end and the commitment all round was top notch

The Muckalee girls added two more points from placed balls while Danesfort replied with a single point from a free, to leave the Northerners champions

Scores – St Martin’s – Rebecca Roche (0-6, 3 frees, 3 45s), Edel Coonan (0-1)

Danesfort – Jenny O’Neill (0-4, frees), Megan Walsh (0-1)

St Martin’s – Niamh Butler, Katie Holohan, Eilis Regan, Annie Dowling, Clodagh Hanlon, Katie Nolan, Grace Deevy (Joint Captain), Rebecca Roche, Hannah Doyle, Claire Moore, Edel Coonan, Roisin Kealy, Laura Tynan, Cliona Quirke (Joint Captain), Amy Nolan

Subs – Caoimhe McGuinness, Fiona Manning, Laura McDowell, Katie O’Neill, Alannah Keegan, Sarah Smyth, Grainne Kelly, Therese Kelly, Chloe Dooley

Danesfort – Aoife Walsh, Emma Nolan, Grace Byrne, Aoife Mulhall, Caoimhe Doyle, Rachel Phelan (Captain), Eva Dunne, Muireann Kelly, Emily Hughes, Megan Walsh, Aoife Farrell, Jenny O’Neill, Alice Byrne, Ailish Keogh, Marianne McIver

Subs – Claire Farrell, Clodagh Doyle, Laura Condon


Read more

Back to news