Sweet Success for Saints

by on the 21st of October 2017

Marble City Travel Minor B County Final

St Martin’s 3-7

Danesfort 1-8

St Martin’s gained revenge for their League Final loss when they beat Danesfort in the Minor B County Final

Danesfort held a narrow lead early on, but Martin’s blasted their way in front after 18 minutes when Katie O’Neill won possession from a ruck and lashed the sliotar to the net

When Rebecca Roche and Hazel Moore struck points, it looked like that St Martins were going to pull away. But Aoife Mulhall, Sinead Bass & Olivia Mahony scored to bring Danesfort to within a point by half time (1-3 to 0-5)

The Saints hit the ground running in the second half, scoring a quick 1-1 to pull clear. Katie O’Neill got the goal, Therese Kelly the point

Danesfort fought back and were level by the 43rd minute. Two Ruth Kent frees were followed by a goal by Aoife Mulhall

St Martins kicked on again, scoring two points through Rebecca Roche frees. Another Ruth Kent free narrowed the gap, but St Martin’s scored another goal through Katie O’Neill (her third of the game) and a point through Claire Moore. It was enough to see them over the line

Scores – St Martins – Katie O’Neill (3-0); Rebecca Roche (0-3, 1 45, 1f); Hannah Doyle, Hazel Moore, Therese Kelly, Claire Moore (0-1 each)

Danesfort – Ruth Kent (0-4, 3 frees); Aoife Mulhall (1-1); Sinead Bass (0-2), Olivia O’Mahony (0-1)

St Martin’s – Caoimhe McGuinness, Fiona Manning, Clodagh Hanlon, Laura McDowell, Katie Holohan, Annie Dowling (C), Katie Ring, Hannah Doyle, Alannah Keegan, Claire Moore, Laura Tynan, Rebecca Roche, Hazel Moore, Therese Kelly, Katie O’Neill

Subs – Carlise Comerford, Ava O’Shea, Sarah Smyth, Grainne Kelly, Orlaith Cahill, Chloe Dooley, Megan Brennan, Sinead Healy

Danesfort – Claire Farrell, Maria Comerford, Emma Nolan, Naomi Tynan, Caoimhe Doyle, Grace Bryne (C), Eva Dunne, Sophie Tynan, Mirann Kelly, Emily Hughes, Ruth Kent, Olivia Mahony, Sinead Bass, Ailish Kehoe, Aoife Mulhall

Subs – Mia Ryan, Lucy Thompson, Aisling Crowley, Niamh O’Shaughnessy, Clodagh Doyle, Mariann McIver, Laura Condon, Hannah Lodge, Ellie Deegan, Caira Walsh

Read more

Back to news