The ‘Town reign on in the local league

by on the 12th of July 2017

Thomastown 3-18

Mullinavat 1-9

Thomastown retained their Senior League Title after a comprehensive win over Mullinavat in Piltown on Monday night

The three Farrell sisters and two Donnelly sisters scored 3-15 out of Thomastown’s total

Mullinavat shot the opening two points through Elaine Aylward and a Michelle Quilty point before Thomastown hit back with 1-3 without reply

Shelly Farrell goaled and Eimear Donnelly, Jenny Reddy & Niamh Donnelly all pointed

The teams exchanged points through Aine Kinsella, Ciara Holden (2, one free) for Mullinavat & Niamh Donnelly, Sarah Brennan to leave Thomastown 1-5 to Mullinavat 0-5

Scoring Spree

Then Thomastown went on a scoring spree shooting. They shot 1-3 without reply, the goal by Eimear Farrell added to by points from Eimear Donnelly, Eimear Farrell & Niamh Donnelly

At half-time the ‘Town led by 2-8 to 0-5

Four minutes after the restart, Mullinavat pointed through Michelle Quilty. Thomastown replied immediately with a goal from Niamh Donnelly

The aforementioned player added a further two points before the ‘Vat added two from placed balls by Michelle Quilty

Entering the final quarter, Angela Kenneally fired home a goal for the losers (3-10 to 1-8)

The reigning champions scored five points without reply (Niamh Donnelly, Anna Farrell, Shelly Farrell, Eimear Farrell (2)), before Michelle Quilty scored a point for Mullinavat’s final score but Thomastown’s Catherine Walsh, Shelly & Eimear Farrell slotted over the last three points

Scores – Thomastown – Niamh Donnelly (1-6, one 45), Eimear Farrell (1-4), Shelly Farrell (1-2), Eimear Donnelly (0-2), Jenny Reddy, Sarah Brennan, Anna Farrell, Catherine Walsh (0-1 each)

Mullinavat – Michelle Quilty (0-5, two frees, one 45), Angela Kenneally (1-0), Ciara Holden (0-2, one free), Elaine Aylward, Aine Kinsella (0-1 each)

Thomastown – Dearbhail O’Keeffe, Eimear Corr, Aoife Holden, Niamh Corrway, Laura Tennyson, Meighan Farrell, Sarah Walsh, Jenny Reddy, Anna Farrell, Catherine Walsh, Sinead Brennan, Eimear Donnelly, Niamh Donnelly, Shelly Farrell, Eimear Farrell

Subs – Blathnaid Galway, Lisa Donnelly, Joanne Fitzpatrick, Aine Lannon, Chloe Corrway, Jenny McGuinness, Laura Quigley, Ailish O’Shea, Tara O’Neill, Niamh O’Shea, Ciara Morrissey, Caoimhe Kelly, Caoimhe Mullins

Mullinavat – Valerie Law, Joanne Quinn, Sinead Aylward, Rebecca Haberlin, Michelle O’Connor, Amy Butler, Ciara Holden, Miriam Frisby, Elaine Aylward, Claire Aylward, Aine Kinsella, Angela Kenneally, Jessica Dunphy, Michelle Quilty, Sinead Phelan

Subs – Ciara Phelan, Nieve Walsh, Aine Phelan, Laura McDonald, Ciara Walsh, Aisling Walsh, Jessica Catt, Christine Murphy, Alison Foskin, Ciara Walsh, Grace Kent

Read more

Back to news