All Ireland Champions Kilkenny head All Star list with 15 nominations

by on the 4th of October 2016

All-Ireland champions Kilkenny and finalists Cork dominate the Camogie All-Stars 2016 shortlist. The final team will be announced at the Camogie All-Stars Awards banquet, sponsored by Liberty Insurance at Citywest Hotel on Saturday, November 5th.

Kilkenny, who won their first All-Ireland title since 1994, received 15 nominations. Goalkeeper Emma Kavanagh, defenders Anne Dalton, Collette Dormer, Meighan Farrell, Jacqui Frisby, Edwina Keane, Claire Phelan and Davina Tobin are amongst the nominees for the Cats. Anna Farrell and Miriam Walsh have both been nominated in midfield, whilst Shelly Farrell, Denise Gaule, Julie Ann Malone, Katie Power and captain Michelle Quilty are amongst the forwards.
Cork have received 10 nominations. Goalkeeper and 2016 Poc Fada winner Aoife Murray, defenders Rena Buckley, Pamela Mackey, Gemma O’Connor and Laura Treacy are amongst the nominees. O’Connor is seeking an incredible 10th All-Stars Award. The Rebels’ captain Ashling Thompson and Orla Cotter have both been nominated at midfield whilst Briege Corkery, Hannah Looney and Katrina Mackey and are amongst the forwards.
Tipperary have received five nominations; defender Aoife McGrath, midfielder Teresa Ryan and forwards Orla O’Dwyer, Mary Ryan and Nicole Walsh.
National League finalists Galway have received four nominations; defenders Sarah Dervan and Rebecca Hennelly and forwards Aoife Donohue and Ailish O’Reilly. Both Offaly and Wexford have also received four nominations. For Offaly defenders Jean Brady and Siobhán Flannery and forwards Tina Hannon and Michaela Morkan have been nominated. Wexford’s nominees include goalkeeper Mags D’Arcy, defender Sarah O’Connor in her debut season, midfielder Shelley Kehoe and forward Kate Kelly who finished the season as the top scorer in this year’s Championship with a tally of 5-49.
Clare, Limerick and Waterford received one nomination each with the Banner’s Niamh O’Dea named amongst the forward line, Niamh Mulcahy named amongst the forwards for the Treaty County and Patricia Jackman of Waterford names amongst the defenders.
President of the Camogie Association Catherine Neary congratulated the nominees stating that “The Camogie All-Stars celebrate the outstanding skill, commitment, athleticism and sportsmanship of our players and it is important to acknowledge at a national level their contribution to our game and to provide them with the recognition they so richly deserve. The 2016 nominees are drawn from across 9 counties and showcase the continued growth of Camogie at intercounty level. I wish to thank our commercial partners Liberty Insurance for their continued sponsorship of the Camogie All-Stars.”
Deirdre Ashe, Director of Personal Lines for Liberty Insurance said “The Camogie All-Stars recognise the outstanding achievement of players and management from the Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Camogie Championships earlier this summer; congratulations to everyone who has been nominated. We’re delighted to sponsor the awards again this year and are looking forward to what is always a memorable and very special evening of celebration on November 5th.
Mark Brennan (Carlow), Paudie Murray (Cork) and Ann Downey (Kilkenny) are amongst the nominees for Manager of the Year, which will be announced on the night along with the 2016 All-Stars team.
The nominees for the Intermediate Soaring Stars and Soaring Stars will be announced later this week.
Nominees for the Camogie Association/WGPA Senior, Intermediate and Junior Players’ Player of the Year Awards sponsored by Liberty Insurance will be announced in mid-October.
Camogie All-Stars 2016 sponsored by Liberty Insurance, nominees list:
Goalkeepers: Aoife Murray (Cork), Emma Kavanagh (Kilkenny), Mags D’Arcy (Wexford)
Defenders: Full-Back Line: Rena Buckley (Cork), Pamela Mackey (Cork), Laura Treacy (Cork), Sarah Dervan (Galway), Collette Dormer (Kilkenny), Jacqui Frisby (Kilkenny), Davina Tobin (Kilkenny), Jean Brady (Offaly), Aoife McGrath (Tipperary)
Half-Back Line: Gemma O’Connor (Cork), Rebecca Hennelly (Galway), Anne Dalton (Kilkenny), Meighan Farrell (Kilkenny), Edwina Keane (Kilkenny), Claire Phelan (Kilkenny), Siobhán Flannery (Offaly), Patricia Jackman (Waterford), Sarah O’Connor (Wexford)
Midfield: Orla Cotter (Cork), Ashling Thompson (Cork), Anna Farrell (Kilkenny), Miriam Walsh (Kilkenny), Teresa Ryan (Tipperary), Shelley Kehoe (Wexford)
Forwards: Half-Forward Line: Hannah Looney (Cork), Niamh O’Dea (Clare), Aoife Donohue (Galway), Denise Gaule (Kilkenny), Julie Ann Malone (Kilkenny), Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick), Michaela Morkan (Offaly), Mary Ryan (Tipperary), Nicole Walsh (Tipperary)
Full-Forward Line: Briege Corkery (Cork), Katrina Mackey (Cork), Ailish O’Reilly (Galway), Shelly Farrell (Kilkenny), Katie Power (Kilkenny), Michelle Quilty (Kilkenny), Tina Hannon (Offaly), Orla O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Kate Kelly (Wexford)
Manager of the Year: Mark Brennan (Carlow), Paudie Murray (Cork), Ann Downey (Kilkenny)
The 13th annual All-Stars Awards banquet sponsored by Liberty Insurance will take place in Citywest Hotel on Saturday November 5th. Tickets are priced at €75 per head.
If you wish to purchase tickets for the Awards, then please complete and return a Ticket Order Form to or contact the Camogie Association on 01 8658651. Tickets are priced at €75 per person.

Read more

Back to news