Tullaroan Leinster Champs After Edging Myshall in Nowlan Park Thriller

by on the 11th of November 2015

AIB Leinster Intermediate Club Camogie Final

Tullaroan             0-08       Myshall                1-04      

Tullaroan fought off a gallant Myshall second half comeback to claim the Leinster Intermediate title for the first time in their history in a thriller in horrific weather conditions in Nowlan Park on Sunday.

It was the Carlow Champions aided with a strong breeze who raced out of the traps and got in for a goal after thirty seconds when some great Myshall forward play saw Michelle Nolan latching on to a Ali Ruschitzko pass to tap the sliotar home from the edge of the small square.  Myshall were enjoying a good period of possession in the opening period of the game, but were guilty of wasting their chances. Tullaroan counteracted this by switching Miriam Walsh and Grace Walsh out of the forward line and crowded out the midfield quarter with great success. These switches brought Tullaroan into the contest and as a result they got the next seven points without reply.   Niamh Dowling opened the victors account with a free in the sixth minute from twenty one meters after Miriam Walsh was fouled.  She followed this  up with two further frees in the eighth minute from thirty five meters and her third free of the afternoon when Grace Walsh was fouled in the twelfth minute from thirty five meters to equalise the contest at 0-03 points to a goal. Ella Moore put Tullaroan into the lead with a well taken point from twenty one meters in the thirteenth minute. Niamh Dowling who was in tremendous form from place balls then tapped over a forty five in the sixteenth minute.  Conditions deteriorated further as a thunder shower blew in, but this didn’t stop Tullaroan’s effort and they were nearly in for a goal in the twenty seventh minute when Grace Walsh gained possession on the edge of the small square rounded her marker but in the process was fouled, referee Jenny Byrne played advantage but Grace’s effort just narrowly went wide of the post. Niamh Dowling then tapped over the accruing free. She followed this up with her sixth point of the day on the stroke of half time from a free from forty five meters to see her side lead 0-07 points to 1-00 at the break. Tullaroan would of being happy at being ahead at the break playing against a strong breeze especially after Myshall  getting the start they did, but one suspected that the Carlow champions  weren’t out of the contest one bit.

It was the victors who opened the new half’s scoring through a Miriam Walsh point in the thirty third minute. Myshall responded strongly and got four unanswered points for the remainder of the half.  Ciara Quirke started the run with a point in the thirty fourth minute from twenty one meters. She followed this up with a free from the same distance a minute later to cut the deficit to three points 0-08 points to 1-02. Myshall were coming more and more into the game with Junior Camogie player of the year Katie Nolan leading the charge from her half back position.  Michelle Nolan cut the gap further to two points with a point in the forty second minute. Kate Nolan then cut the deficit to a solitary point in the forty sixth minute at 0-08 points to 1-04.  Myshall continued to pile on the pressure to get the equalising score, but the Tullaroan defence held firm buoyed with an outstanding defensive display from player of the match AIne Fahey. Myshall had opportunities near the end of the game to clench a draw but Tullaroan held on to claim great victory on a 0-08 points to 1-04 score line.  Tullaroan can now enjoy the Christmas break safe in the knowledge that an All Ireland Semi final spot awaits them. There opponents are not yet known but details will be released in the coming weeks. The semi final is expected to be played in late January 2016.


Scorers-–Tullaroan- Niamh Dowling 0-06 (5f, 1-45), Ella Moore 0-01, Miriam Walsh 0-01. Myshall – Michelle Nolan 1-00, Ciara Quirke 0-02 (1f), Michelle Nolan 0-01, Kate Nolan 0-01.

Tullaroan- Noreen Delaney, Marlise Walsh, Ailish Langton, Jenny Maher, Claire Walsh, Aine Fahey, Rachel Dowling (vice-capt),  Ella Moore, Noelle Maher, Niamh Dowling, Miriam Walsh, Aisling Pollard (capt), Lorraine Maher, Grace Walsh, Breda O’Neill.

Subs- Aideen Kenny, Danika Sweeney, Rachel Buckley, Leandra Pollard, Catherine Maher, Emer Lanigan, Aine Lanigan , Anna Marie Young,  Sinead Quigley, Ann Marie Keogh,  Sinead Keoghan, Maureen Dunphy, Caoimhe Holland, Rebecca Cuddihy.

Myshall – Joanne Joyce, Pamela Whelan, Mairead Doyle, Niamh Quirke, Fiona Abbey, Briege Nolan, Kate Nolan, Ciara Mullins, Olivia Jordan, Tara Wilson, Katherine Crooks, Marian Doyle, Ciara Quirke, Ali Ruschitzko, Michelle Nolan.

Subs- Emma Coogan, Annie Tracey, Eilish Byrne, Miriam O’Brien, Laura James.

Referee- Jenny Byrne (Dublin)

Tullaroan Leinster champs 2


Read more

Back to news