St Brigids stand between Loreto and Post Primary Senior A Title

by on the 1st of March 2016


Loreto Secondary School O’Neills All-Ireland Post Primary Senior A Finalists 2016

O’Neills All-Ireland Post Primary Senior A Final

Loreto Kilkenny              vs            St Brigids Loughrea

Venue: MacDonagh Park, Nenagh 3.15pm Referee: Julie O’Neill

There is a big weekend ahead for Loreto Secondary School as they will go in search of their first All-Ireland Post Primary Senior A title since 2013 when they take on St Brigids-Loughrea in MacDonagh Park, Nenagh at 3.15pm Saturday.

The Loreto have being in terrific form this season and claimed the Leinster title over Birr Community school in January. Loreto started the game brightly and eased into a 1-05 to 0-02 point half time lead. Credit to Birr they staged a second half comeback but Loreto got the vital scores and emerged victorious on a 2-06 to 0-07 point score line.

This victory set up an All Ireland semi final date with St Patricks-Maghera of Derry. The Loreto made the long journey to The Loup in Derry to take on the home side. In a close hard fought first half it was Loreto who went in with a narrow 0-03 points to 0-01 half time lead.  Loreto burst out of the traps in the second half and put an impressive display by keeping St Patrick’s scoreless but also getting the vital scores at the other end of the field where they got 1-04 without reply to record a 1-07 to 0-01 victory to set up an All Ireland showdown with St.Brigids College Loughrea who recorded an impressive 2-06 to 0-04 point victory over Tulla, Clare in the other semi final.

This game has all the traits of being a cracker and definitely not one to be missed and we would ask all Kilkenny supporters to get behind Loreto on Saturday.

Loreto Secondary School Team to Play St Brigids-Loughrea

1. Kirsty Maher (Dicksboro)
2. Tara Clifford (Dicksboro)
3. Roisin Phelan (Conahy Shamrocks)
4. Ciara O’Shea (Dicksboro)
5. Ruth Kent (Danesfort)
6. Michelle Teehan (James Stephens)
7. Nicole Carter (Young Irelands)
8. Grace O’Donnell (Young Irelands)
9. Niamh Deely (James Stephens)
10. Caoimhe Dowling (Dicksboro)
11. Aoife O’Carroll (Lisdowney)
12. Rachel Kelly (James Stephens)
13. Sophie O’Dwyer James Stephens)
14. Kate Drennan (Young Irelands)
15. Hannah Kelly (James Stephens)
16. Caoimhe Murphy (St.Brigids)
17. Sorcha Ryan (Dicksboro)
18. Grace Byrne (Danesfort)
19. Eimear Keoghan (St. Brigids)
20. Ella Moore (Tullaroan)
21. Aideen O’Connor (Paulstown)
22. Jennifer O’Keeffe (O’Loughlin Gaels)
23. Katie Brennan (Conahy Shamrocks)
24. Issy Carroll (Dicksboro)
25. Karen Delaney (Lisdowney)
26. Steffi Fitzgerald (Young Irelands)
27. Aisling Morrissey (Dicksboro)
28. Jane Cass (Dicksboro)
29. Rebecca Cuddihy (Tullaroan)
30. Hannah Murphy (Conahy Shamrocks)
31. Ciara O’ Keeffe (Young Irelands)

Read more

Back to news